The Magnetic Fields

claudia                         merritt

“I like the idea of love songs in bulk — I like it for its Warholian repetition, and for the gall it clearly displays that is part of my personality. It’s a stunt; it’s Evel Knievel jumping over 69 cars.”
– Stephen Merrit

Första gången jag lyssnade på The Magnetic Fields gick jag fortfarande i gymnasiet. Jag stal dem från min första flickvän, jag tyckte aldrig att de var speciellt bra när vi var tillsammans. När kärleken dog insåg jag plötsligt det vackra i deras svarta humor.

“a little glimpse of nothingness
sucking meaning from the rest of this mess
Yes yes yes it was thoroughly meaningless

and if some dim bulb should say
we were in love in some way
kick all his teeth in for me
and if you feel like keeping on kicking feel free”
– Meaningless

Nu var det inte Meaningless jag gick och sjöng på eftersom min första ‘brake up’ var den klassiska livet-rasar-samman och gråta varje natt, även om jag i efterhand inser att vi aldrig var ämnade för varandra. Nej det var snarare “I don’t want to get over you” och “Love is like a bottle of gin” som gick på repeat.

vänskap

Under gymnasiet lärde jag känna Emil Lindblom, och Stephin Merrits kärlekslåtar skulle komma att definiera vårat förhållande till kärleken. Vissa låtar kom även att symbolisera vår kärlek till varandra, som Merrit’s homage till Billie Holiday

“My only love has gone away
Will you be my only friend?

Billie, you’re a genius, enough to be a fool
A fool to gamble everything and never know the rules
Some of us can only live in songs of love and trouble”
– My only friend

Posted in Musik

Leave a Reply

